The Best Way to Beat the Summertime Blues may be a Homeschool Moms Convention in January

http://www.facebook.com/share.php?u=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.smockityfrocks.com%2F2013%2F10%2Fhomeschool-moms-winter-summit-news-giveaway.html

 

 

                I’m in a rush as usual because tonight is the deadline.  It is the deadline for the best “give-away” that I personally, as a homeschool mom, can think of.  (Good grief! My grammar is lousy tonight….) I digress.  There is a chance I (and a friend) could win a weekend in San Marcos, TX  at the “Homeschool Moms’ Winter Summit”.   Woo hoo!!!!   The description sounds GLORIOUS!  Especially right now because, to borrow a line from a movie, our home is a “hothouse of female emotion”.   Anyone that has daughters knows what I’m talking about.  Just seems like a perfect storm at the moment.  Thank goodness, storms pass.  So, I’m breathing deeply.  And praying for calm feelings.  And looking forward to January.

                If you need a break like I do, you might want to join the fun in January.  Check it out here:  http://www.homeschoolwintersummit.com/  And here: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Homeschool-Moms-Winter-Summit/242820272446772. Also here: http://www.smockityfrocks.com/?s=Homeschool+Moms+Winter+Summit. I’ve told a friend of mine who is homeschool mom newbie about it, and I think that , regardless of the outcome of the contest, we’ll be making the road trip.   But last night, as I lay in my bed praying and thinking and trying to whip up some creative submission to win this contest, I chastised myself.  I’m being selfish.

                You see, over 20 years ago, I met this friend of my college roommate. She was a quirky, happy, funny kind of girl named Kat who didn’t have a mean bone in her body.  I didn’t know her real well then, but we’ve reconnected through Facebook, and I have grown to admire her IMMENSELY!  And after a harrowing summer, she, if anyone, deserves this.  So, I’m writing this on her behalf.  She doesn’t know I’m writing this, and quite frankly, I don’t know if she’ll be able to get away.  But I figure,  if she has enough time to prepare, this may just work out for her.

                So let me tell you why I think she deserves this.  Simply, she has 9 children (and one more in heaven).  She and her husband have adopted most through international adoptions.  What started out as rescuing children from heavily burdened institutions and impossible situations, has intensified to include special needs children.  Last year, in the middle of one of these adoptions, their family learned that their son would not have the benefit of knowing them because he passed away before they could retrieve him from the orphanage.  Yet, in their grief, they decided to move forward with another adoption from the same institution.  And a few months ago, their latest blessing made it home to Texas. 

                There is so much more to the story that I can’t describe in one blog post.  So if you get a chance, please go read her blog. http://everlastingmomentum.blogspot.com/. It will leave you with a renewed hope in Christianity and mankind.  Unbelievable faith… it leaves me in tears and speechless often. ( Although, I have to say, some of it is both hilarious and relatable.)

                I would love to win this.  My Newbie Homeschool Mom friend and I would have a wonderful time.  But, it would be even better if Kat won this and got a little rest, refreshment, and reward.  And that would be better than a winning it myself.

1 Comment

Filed under Homeschooling, Marriage/Family, Personal News, Prayer Requests, Miscellaneous Rantings

One response to “The Best Way to Beat the Summertime Blues may be a Homeschool Moms Convention in January

  1. I’ll be doing out her blog too! Because WOW!

Leave a Reply

